Attack of the Aggressive Sugar Packet!

January 20, 2010 at 6:39 pm | Posted in Me | Leave a comment
Tags: , ,

I have a difficult relationship with artificial sweeteners. One of the many idiosyncrasies that tend to mark me as unusual for my age (e.g. refusal to wear thong underwear, aversion to heels, having not read any of the Harry Potter books, etc.) is my extreme distaste for fake sugars, and thus my inability to stomach Diet Coke, low-sugar yogurts, or anything else sweetened with Splenda, Extra, Sweet’n’Low, or NutriSweet. Friends have tried to convince me that “it’s not that bad!” or that such-and-such new sweetener tastes “exactly” like sugar, but thus far I am unconvinced. That said, sometimes I wish I did like artificial sweeteners, because I really do like drinking sugared sodas, and the possibility of avoiding excessive sugar consumption is really tantalizing. Nevertheless, I can’t train my tastebuds to get on board with this plan, so for now, I’m sticking with my Dr. Pepper.

So, with all this in mind, I cracked up when I saw this photo on Passive Aggressive Notes. Talk about your assertive (threatening?) sugar packet! It refuses to cede market share to the Splenda packets of the world. Do you think it knows something we don’t?

[ image from Passive Aggressive Notes ]

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

