My First BLT

January 18, 2010 at 5:35 pm | Posted in Me | Leave a comment
Tags:

Last Thursday, I ate a BLT sandwich for the first time in my life.

The previous absence of BLTs from my diet can mostly be attributed to the fact that I grew up not eating red meat, leaving poultry and seafood as the sole animal-based proteins on the family dinner table. As an adult I have continued to abstain from red meat simply because eating any more than a few bites gives me a stomachache, a phenomenon my dad attributes to my digestive system lacking the proper enzymes to digest it.

Last week, however, turkey bacon was on sale at the supermarket, and on a whim I bought some, which I planned to eat in club sandwich-type configurations, or with eggs. On Thursday I realized that my fridge happened to contain all necessary ingredients for BLT creation: tomatoes, romaine lettuce, sourdough bread, and mayonnaise. I hardly ever have all these foodstuffs at the same time, so I took it as a sign that I was meant to eat a BLT. I toasted the bread, cooked the bacon, sliced the tomatoes, and took a bite.

It was SO DELICIOUS. My first thought was, damn, what have I been missing all these years??

The BLT is so simple, and yet so filling! I couldn’t stop thinking about it after the first one I ate; I think I’ve made three in the last five days. Even my vegetarian boyfriend fondly recalled the BLT as one of the few meat-based meals he loves. So here’s to you, turkey bacon, for letting me experience the glory that is the BLT for the very first time.

[ image from MSNBC ]

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

